Mapsource Registry Problem

I have lurked around these parts for a while now but I am hoping that someone can post some help to my problem.

I have a Garmin Vista C and have Mapsource World Map, Metroguide v6 and the Trip and Waypoint Manager installed. All of sudden I can no longer open Mapsource. A mesage comes up saying "Mapsource Registry error. Reinstall program". I have reinstalled many times and Googled this error to. I am a novice when it comes to rooting about in my laptops registry.

Can anyone offer any advice or point me in its direction. I am getting rather frustated because I cant load up my GPS with the maps of the places I am going to visit soon.

I DID FIND THIS

A lot of people have posed this question to the forum, and people toss about various suggestions which do not seem to help. The people with the problem just seem to fall off the face of the earth as we never hear back from them to tell us what the solution is.

Mapsource Problems

Mapsource Registry Error, Anyone seen / fixed this before?

Use caution, my friend. I fear for your safety! An alien abduction may be in your near future! CLICK HERE to learn how to make a "THOUGHT SCREEN HELMET" to prevent abduction! :cry:

But seriously - I did a little search here and found something new to try:

CLICK HERE to download the latest version (6.8.0) of MapSource. Changes made from version 6.3 to 6.5 include "Modified MapSource to provide the user with more useful feedback in certain situations where the program failed because of an invalid entry in the MapSource registry entries." Maybe it'll fix your problem altogether as I don't think this was suggested in the past. If it doesn't fix the problem, then at least it might provide more clues as to what the actual problem might be.