City Navigator Or City Select

Hello,

Forgive me as I am new to the gps world. I just got off the phone with Garmin and was speaking with them in regards to City Select and where I could find a copy in my city. They then told me that that product would not be making any more updates to the software and that ver 7 would most likely be the last version of that product. They informed me that the product they are going with would be City Navigator (with v7 being the most recent). At this point I would tend to lean towards City Navigator v7 so that I can get more updates as the cities expand. What do you think?

Thank you

My take:

They just released City Select version 7 back in August, so it is pretty much as up to date as map data can get. I have been using City Select version 5 for nearly two years now. I think I could probably use it for another two without feeling like the data is obsolete.

The data is pretty old when it gets released anyway. After my brother moved into a new house a few years back, it took 'em three years to get his street to show up on the maps...

So - you could probably do alright with City Select version 7. By the time you REALLY need to update your maps, they'll probably discontinue City Navigator and come out with something else :o

Is there any downside to buying city navigator? Or will it work with my etrex legend C unit and serve its purpose?

Yes, the map regions are much larger in the current (vers. 7) CityNavigator-NA compared to CitySelect-NA. Since the LegendC is limited to 24 MB, some regions won't fit at all using the City Navigator maps and even if a region fits you're limited in flexibility if you can only specify a single region rather than choosing more precisely what area you'd like to cover by picking multiple regions in City Select. The actual map data (roads, addresses, POIs, etc.) are identical for the two products but there are minor differences in the routing characteristics.