Magellan Topography Software

SandyEggoGuy

I am new to GPS and am having trouble getting started with a new exporist 600.

The basemap is not very good so I ordered a the 3D topo from Magellan. It loads into the PC, but I can not bring it up as the PC will not recognize the third disk when I try to run program. Anyone had similiar problem.

I am new to GPS and am having trouble getting started with a new exporist 600.

The basemap is not very good so I ordered a the 3D topo from Magellan. It loads into the PC, but I can not bring it up as the PC will not recognize the third disk when I try to run program. Anyone had similiar problem.

Lots of people. It sounds like there was a "bad run" recently with their CD publisher. You should contact Magellan about exchanging the disk.

Note that, from what I understand, the 3rd disc is the one protected with the funky copy protection -- which is NOT compatible with all CDROM/DVDROM drives. I'd keep talking with Magellan about this -- it should be a KNOWN issue since other companies using the same copy protection are having similar problems and have had for a while now.

- John...

Back to SandyEggoGuy's original question: On my Meridian, the uploaded Topo maps (MapSend Topo) are great. Wouldn't hike the SoCal mountains without them. With a 256MG SD card, there is room for 3 or 4 states, a couple Worldwide Basemaps (another good investment if you travel outside the US and plan to cache). Still leaves plenty of SD card space for lots of 500 Wpt chunks of caches & benchmarks, and various tracks.

You guys are starting to scare me with all the Explorist problems.... my Meridian has been great, and better keep working a while yet......