I'm New: ...garmin 60csx Or Magellan Explorist Xl ?

KevinK7

I hope this is the right place to ask...

I'm new at this GPS stuff, and looking to purchase a unit to use both for hiking/ATV'ing and for autorouting a roadtrip in the car.

From what I've read, ...I like the features of the Garmin 60csx (but screen is a bit smaller than I'd like), ....however I just stumbled upon the Magellan Explorist XL, ...and I very much like the idea of a larger screen.

Any suggestions on which of these two units? and/or does anyone know of a source (ie. website) that has a table that compares features (ie. pros/cons) between these two units?

Thanks in advance for any information,

Kevin

...Great site by the way :mad:

Both units are pretty new, and so both of them are shaking out a few start-up bugs...but I think they're both very promising units that will be nice with a little firmware polishing. My impression is that Garmin is more apt to address firmware updates in a timely manner (it took about a year to get the first firmware update for my Explorist 500).

The bigger screen of the XL gives one advantage for autorouting, but read this thread for other autorouting differences between Garmin and Magellan.

Unless that large screen is really attractive to you, I'd go for th 60csx.

Hi,

I've recently went through this comparison too. I really like the screen size of the xl, and it looks like the csx and the explorists receivers are compariable, but the autorouting on the handheld was the deciding factor for me. As of this moment, I plan on buying the 60cx, unless magellan improves this between now and when I buy (in a month or so).

Embra,

Is the autorouting part of the handheld firmware, or is it something that gets installed with the maps when you upload it?

TIA!

Randy

...Thanks for the reply, ...and the link. It does seem the general concensus is for Garmin based on functionality.