Newbie - Purchasing A Gps

JBiff

I'm very new to this game and very enthused. I was introduced and have been out twice with a good friend, known here as jedihunter. I want to get my own family into caching and in that interest I have been researching gpsr units and I believe I have narrowed the search down to two in my price range: The Magellan 210 and the Garmin Etrex Legend. Hoping there are some of you out there who have experience with either or both of these units or maybe you think I should be looking in another direction. Any thoughts or opinions would be appreciated.

I'm very new to this game and very enthused. I was introduced and have been out twice with a good friend, known here as jedihunter. I want to get my own family into caching and in that interest I have been researching gpsr units and I believe I have narrowed the search down to two in my price range: The Magellan 210 and the Garmin Etrex Legend. Hoping there are some of you out there who have experience with either or both of these units or maybe you think I should be looking in another direction. Any thoughts or opinions would be appreciated.

As luck would have it, I researched both of those models and went with the 210. It isn't that I found the 210 to be vastly superior to the Legend, it's just that I wanted the Geocaching software that goes with the 210. I had done a side-by-side specification check and finally decided the 210, software aside, would suit my needs. I went out for the first time yesterday and am quite pleased with the performance. Be aware, though, that as with most products these days, the manual that comes in the box isn't worth the paper it is printed on. I downloaded the manual from the Magellan site prior to purchasing so I could take a look. It's better, but I'd suggest reading it along with the chapter on setting up your GPS in the Idiot's Guide to Geocaching.

Good luck!