Please Help - Which Gps?

I am new to Caching and need to buy a GPS.

I already have a Navman iCN520 to help me get to the right area in the car but need something now to help me locate the cache.

I have been looking at Garmin products more specifically the Legend cx or the Vista cx. Money isn't too much of a problem but don't want to spend unneccesarily!!!

I think the only difference between the two is the altimeter and compass - are these really worth spending the extra?? or would anybody recommend a cheaper alterantive that will do the job that i need?

Also if I buy the legend or vista, I know these come with a basemap - is this good enough or do you have to buy others...have looked at the TOPO sd maps but again these are expensive

Please help!!!

Hi Tadpole, I have recently bought the Legend and i find that with the basemaps (included in the purchase) that it does what I need. The only gripe i have is the absence of extra memory. The Legend has 8mb for map usage, which is quite sufficient for most of Norfolk (where i reside) but I would have to remove Norfolk to put on lets say Cambridgeshire. I think the CX has more memory and a colour screen (Legend is B/W). So its down to your preference. The Legend is good, the CX is good but with more memory. Now all you have left is a 'phone a friend' and a '50/50', youve already used the 'ask the audience'. Good luck whichever you choose.

Red Squadron

If you are just starting get yourself a simple Etrex yellow. Even if you later get something better, the Etrex is always a good standby unit.

There is no real need for the altimeter and most units have a compass.

Again a proper metal magnetic compass is handy to keep in your bag.

What with your Navman you could be able to load caches to that as POIs

I can do so with my Tomtom go, and I have found caches with that.

Edited by McDeHack