Chiggers?

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty much a neocacher, but have spent a fair amount of time outdoors, so I'm not a complete novice.

However, I'm wondering if I've picked up some chiggers while caching.

I always thought they were more the bain of boaters and tubers, but I guess they can be in the woods too.

But I'm not sure.

As with most outdoors activities here in MN, I'm very familiar with mosquitoes.

Instant swelling and itching, and usually subsides in an hour or two.

But I have developed a few spots, or sores, a couple days after being in the woods.

These one don't seem like a mosquito bite; they are small round raised firm bumps.

They also tend to have a point or a scab on the top of the bump.

Oh, and they itch like mad!

A few of them have been bugging me for 3+ days, and none of these ones showed up until a few days after caching or hiking.

I don't think it's spider bites from my in house either, don't know why I believe this, I just got a feeling it's something else.

Hydrocortisone cream takes the edge off the itching, but only for a little bit.

So, could these be chigger bites; any other ideas?

(I don't even know what a chigger looks like, I'm just grasping at straws since a friend said "hey, those look like chigger bites".)

Hmmm, ?

Thanks, -Kris

Edited by krisandmel

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty much a neocacher, but have spent a fair amount of time outdoors, so I'm not a complete novice.

I always thought they were more the bain of boaters and tubers, but I guess they can be in the woods too.

But I'm not sure.

But I have developed a few spots, or sores, a couple days after being in the woods.

These one don't seem like a mosquito bite; they are small round raised firm bumps.

A few of them have been bugging me for 3+ days, and none of these ones showed up until a few days after caching or hiking.

I don't think it's spider bites from my in house either, don't know why I believe this, I just got a feeling it's something else.