GEOBUGS

REDRAT007

Hello all...

I have been planning a camping trip with my family and a long time friend and his daughter. I am very new to Geocaching. actually this will be our collective first time, but I have spent a lot of time on this site reading up.. I have ordered a few Geobugs for OUR first find/drop.. I went to the Geobug area on this site and was looking at the gallery and noticed that not a lot of the bugs have much of a "history". Is this not as big as just finding a site and logging the find??? I have really been talking these bugs up to my family and my friend's family. If I wanted something to go from Florida to California it might take a lifetime. Or am I missing something???? I also was plannig on requesting some photos along the journy but the individual gallerys dont have any if even one??? Again am im issing something here?? I also was planning on requesting some photos of our bugs along there journeys but the individual galleries don’t seem to have any if even one photo at the starting point??? Again am I missing something here??

Thanks in advance!!!

RR

Im so new I called em Geobugs..............After reading most of the following thread i will now refer to the as TRAVEL BUGS or TB for short...So much to learn

Edited by REDRAT007

Many bugs have been in circulation for a long time. Others disappear quickly. There is some luck involved. I had a TB disappear from the first cache it was placed in, never to resurface, while I've had others that have traveled thousands of miles.

As far as a Tbug going across country, it could take a lifetime and it could take a week. Its all a matter of who picks it up and where they are headed.

If you would like people to take photos you can ask for them to do so on the bug's page. You are more likely to get people to comply if your bug is cute or otherwise interesting.