Need Advice: Garmin Vista 24MB vs Magellan 500LE

MtSpaz

Let me start off by saying that I'm new to the handheld GPS thing.

I pulled the trigger a bit early and ordered this:

Amazon Order

(Search on Garmin vista 24 if the URL doesn't work)

Then I found this at Costco (I'm a member)

Costco GPS

It's more than Garmin vs Magellan. These are the key points I'm considering:

14 vs 12 Channels *

Color vs B&W

USB vs Serial * (Dad's laptop needs a USB to Serial converter)

Included Maps vs Not *

SD Slot vs 24MB *

Costco Return policy vs AntOnline

Based on the reviews on Amazon, Garmin has a better bicycle mount, which I ordered with it.

(* features of most concern)

I ordered 2 units. One for me & one for my dad.

Dad will use his primarily for gold mine & claim hunting in the desert of AZ. I'll use mine for cycling, hiking, and general gadgetry, maybe some geocaching in WA

We both have and may use laptops for additional mapping, etc. on our outings

Amazon didn't have them in stock, so my Amazon order went through ANTOnline.

Their return policy includes a 15% restocking fee.

The cost of the Topo Maps (considering 2 copies) more than covers the fee & return shipping, but that's IF we were to get the Garmin maps down the road. I hadn't considered buying the Topo maps until I saw that deal at Costco.

It's not completely about the money either. I'd like to get the best setup for the two of us. If it costs a little extra to do that, then I'm willing.

I've read a bit about Garmin vs Magellan and best I can tell it's a lot about personal preference. Not having used either, I'm open to either. Dad had a Garmin 12XL but lost it. I don't think he's tied to a brand/model either.

Admittedly, I pulled the trigger a bit early, but I have a chance to 'fix' it if the benefits are compelling.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks