OK Old schoolers

OK, I am totally new to Geocaching, but I have to ask:

1) What is this "change in direction" that people keep mentioning about geocaching? What was it like before as opposed to now? Ive only hunted down a few caches, but they seem to fall into 3 categories:

a - Caches that lead you to a cool (generally natural) place that you would have otherwise drove by.

b - Caches designed for the working guy out on lunch break, but jonesin for some caching

c - Themed caches

This post from this thread prompted this.If we've spent at least 5 minutes preusing these hallowed halls of the Geocaching forums,we've heard about "I don't like where the sport is heading","Oh he's old school,it was different back then",and so forth.So tell us and let's discuss here,where Geocaching is going,what you've seen along the way,and where we need to take it,or get it back to.

This is us new guys/gals reaching to you and looking for guidance to improve the sport,since we constantly here this all the time.Trust me,if I could've joined GC in July 2000 when I got my first Garmin GPS II unit I probably would have,and I could had the coveted charter membership,but until I perfect my time machine,I'll just have to suck it up and learn from the past.

I had a boss one time that told me,"A man don't learn nothin' if he don't ask no questions."Great advice.So here's my questions,give us the answers.

We're relative newbies, but even we've seen the "change" in the caching world. Look at the dates of caches being set, what kind they are and where they are and you start seeing a trend. Caches used to actually be caches. You know, an actual cache as defined by the English language being...

cache: noun, verb, cached, cach·ing.

–noun 1. a hiding place, esp. one in the ground, for ammunition, food, treasures, etc.: