GPSMAP 60Cx and shortchanging distance on hikes

When I hike (usually through fairly heavy cover) with my Garmin 60Cx, it is not very accurate in terms of distance traveled. For example, if I go on a 5 mile roundtrip hike, the unit only says 4 miles traveled. But then when I download the track into Mapsource, it gives the correct 5 mile distance there. It seems the unit is calculating distance differently than mapsource. Is this just a limitation of the unit, or is there a setting I have wrong? I'm somewhat new to this, so I could just be missing something simple.

Though some will claim that the GPS they own doesn't have this problem, I have seen it to some degree on every Magellan, Lowrance, and Garmin unit I have owned.

In short, it will underestimate speed and distance when I'm moving slowly (walking), and be more accurate when I'm going fast (cycling, driving, flying).

I've always assumed the GPS "rounds down" the distance it measures between each update, used to report your present speed (and add up your track distance). If you move a long way each second, and it rounds of a few centimetres, it's no big deal. If you're dawdling, then those few centimeetrs might be a more significant fraction of the distance travelled.

I bet Robert Lipe will chime in on this one :blink:

I like that round-off theory, as long as it always rounds down. If it rounds off according to acceptable mathematical practices then rounding will be statistically irrelevant.

I think the problem here is poor reception causing track to cut corners.

Here is one of my theories. I believe my unit (etrex vista cx) overstates distance. As I walk along a trail gpsr will mark my postion with an error equal to some radial distance around me. Now, the radii pointing forward will cancel the ones pointing backward. But the ones pointing right and left will add to my distance as they bounce back and forth on each side of the trail.