Coin tracking websites

earthrooster

OK, I'm relatively new to geocoin collecting but I've amassed quite a collection already. Yes, I went a little crazy :rolleyes: but who doesn't? :D

I'm really interested in trading coins as there are some beautiful pieces out there. I know of a couple of websites where I can post what I have and what I wish for (cointracking.com and geocoincollection.com). What site do you use and why? I'm interested in the differences between sites and why you like one versus the other.

I hope it's appropriate to ask for a recommendation like this :huh:

Thanks, everybody!

I use cointracking 'coz it's the first I learned to use and didn't want to replicate the learning curve. I also like taking my own pics of the coins I post on my list(s) or I can snag others... no dif. I don't think you can do that on the other site and it's frustrating seeing a listing with the caption "photo coming soon" for a coin that's been out a while. That's my experience, my nickel's worth and I'm stickin' to it.

But it's harder to find the coins your looking for on cointracking.com since anyone can create a database entry and use any image they want and call it what ever they want. That makes it way more difficult to do searches. So, cointracking.com may have a larger database, but how many times are you counting a particular coin? (I just counted my Arizona Season coin is listed under different naming schemes, three of which use the same picture.)

Also, if you want to have a decent image of both sides of the coin on the list, you have to pay for an edition for that privilege on cointracking.com.

I also like taking my own pics of the coins I post on my list(s) or I can snag others... no dif.

Geocoincollection.com doesn't like to use pictures unless they are taken by the collectors using the service. This is to avoid issues with copyright infringements, so there's a big dif.