Unintended Consequences - Safety

As an engineer I started my career in petrochemical plants. When you work around things that easily go "boom" you get a LOT of safety training. Some of that came back to me the other day as I thought about some of the "clever" hides I've found. I wonder if we aren't sometimes a bit "too clever." Consider that every cacher learns something every time he/she finds a new cache. To a great extent we are "trained" by our finds. I've been exposed to a number of caches that turned out to be micros or magnetic caches secreted behind various escutcheons. Apparently the so called "lamp post" hides are a matter of some infamy in some caching circles. As an electrical engineer, the first time I found one of these under a lamp post escutcheon in a supermarket parking lot, one of my first thoughts was "I wonder if there is any live or exposed 120/220V wiring under here?" Now having been thus "trained" by such a find, on subsequent forays, I found myself considering all manner of other escutcheons in the environs at the coordinates for investigation. The problem is that such covers and escutcheons are there for a reason, sometimes more than just cosmetics. If we too cleverly hide things, we are inadvertently training our seekers/finders to consider similar hiding places in the future. It occurred to me then that when it came time to hide my own caches, I need to give some consideration to the "message" it is sending about reasonable and safe hiding places. I'd hate to inadvertently train folks to do unsafe things.