How far is cache from "ground zero"?

NotHerbert

Newbie here. I have had one successful find, but attempted a four-stage multi-cache last weekend and went 0 for 4! My question is: what is the typical variance from "ground zero" for placement of caches? In other words, I was standing exactly where my eTrex told me the cache would be found, and was looking in a "several foot" radius around that area. Should I widen my search? Is it common for caches to be location within 30, 50 or even 100 feet of a posted coordinate? (that sounds a bit wide, given the supposed precision of the GPS). What IS a "reasonable" radius to include in your search for caches? THANKS!

A cache location is only as good as the coords that the cache owner input. Generally tho, if coords are significantly off, and this cache has been found several times, the folks who found it would be mentioning that in their logs. I was FTF on a local cache that ended up being some 100 yards off from the coords. CO admitted he made a mistake and fixed them. Most cachers will start at what they see as GZ and work outward, eyeing up possible hide locations.

Good luck!

deb3day

Most GPS units are accurate to within about 30 feet (15 feet or so with a good WAAS lock)(and yes I know these numbers are not exact, I'm just estimating), so theoretically if the cache owner placed the cache with his/her GPS unit and only had a 30 foot accuracy, and then you come along with your GPS that only has 30 foot accuracy. Technically you could be 60 feet away from the cache. But most likely 30-45 feet is about what I have seen, in all the caches I have found (yeah i know its not that many). Only 1 cache was way off from the coordinates, and it required a second visit, with 2 additional GPS units to help triangulate its location. Even with 3 GPS units, the location provided by the CO as compared to those looking for the cache, seemed to be off by about 20 feet.