Snow and Geocaching?

schwachs

So it's snowed up here a lot in the Boston area...

I am looking for kid-friendly caches that won't be covered in a foot of the white stuff.

Thoughts on how to make snow-treks successful?

The only caches that wouldn't be covered are LPC's which are pretty boring since they are all micros. It is impossible to tell if a normal cache will be under snow or not.

I am in the Chicago suburbs area and have also gotten a bunch of snow. I was just introduced to Geocaching on December 20th and there has been a lot of snow on the ground since my startup, but I am still itching to get my first find. Any suggestions on type of caches to look for? I am a cellular field tech and I work on cell sites all up and down Lake Michigan and there are some that seem to be near some of my cell towers but I am having trouble locating them. Any suggestions?

You could try looking for caches that have the winter friendly attribute set, but it's a bit of an iffy proposition. Some people use it for caches that you can get to in the winter, regardless of whether or not you have a snowball's chance of finding it. Others use it for caches that you might actually stand a chance of finding, such as a lnl hidden in the stump of a broken off tree 3' above the ground, or a camoed peanut butter jar hung by a bungee in a conifer. Other than getting to know the hiding styles of your local cachers, it can be hard to tell which is which though!

Another time honoured method is to wait for a new cache to be found by someone else, and then simply follow their footprints around. Which reminds me of the other time honoured tradition of creating false trails for those try and follow your footprints! :shocked: