geocaching gear

HereBeDragons01

I am just starting out geocaching and love it so far. I am looking at getting a bag to carry my stuff in and was wondering what is the best choice. I know it depends on what you like but I wanted to hear some thoughts. I am considering either a camelbak or one of those utility shoulder bags.

I like the camelbaks because they have a built in water bottle but the other ones seem like they would be easier to get to without taking it off. I will probably be riding my bike to some of the caches so the shoulder bag might be hard to carry if I am and I would have to carry a water bottle. What do you think?

The camel back is what worked out best for me (after I first did the pocket thing, Fanny pack, and regular back pack). I do not need to take it off to take a drink, and it sits well on my back. The straps have handy loops for hanging my GPSr and cell phone on, and it can be removed and hung on a tree branch to access the stuff in the back. I bought the smaller version first (I think it is called the "Junior"), but I wanted more water and carrying capacity (geocaching junk), so I bought the next size up. I still have all the other carrying equipment, but only the Fanny pack comes out of storage when I need to "supplement" my carrying capacity (planting several new cache sites). The camel back works for hiking, bicycling (mountain bike), Motorcycle (on and off road), and even works pretty good as a consolidated geocaching storage device in the 4X4 (for the park and grabs). But just like GPSr's, everybody has their own reasons for liking (or not liking) what they use. You will just have to get out there and figure out what will work best for you and the conditions you most often find yourself in.