magellan gps 300

kuttmost

I am really new to geocaching. I purchased a Magellan GPS 300 on craigslist and I am having trouble putting in coordinates. The unit was band new in the box. It is discontinued so I cant get any information n it. It seems like the coordinates just dont fit into the unit. If anyone is knowledgeable with these things please let me know. I need all of the help that I can get!!

I assume you mean a Triton 300? I have a Triton 400, the process is the same. The Tritons do have paperless caching capability. To take advantage of this, you need to be able to download gpx files; to do that, you need to be a premium member. Follow these instructions...

You need to be a premium member to download gpx files. ...

You can use either step 2a, 2b or 2c to get the caches from the website in VP.

1. On the page of a cache, click GPX eXchange File and save it to your hard drive; I organized mine into different folders, basically by city(I usually name them the same as on the website; make sure that the file name ends in .gpx)

2a. Upload the .gpx file into Vantage point; from Vantage Point software, click the library tab, select Import to import the file into VP; then select the file from your hard drive. You can only do one file at a time, pain in the butt.

2b. To import multiple gpx files at once, open the folder that contains the gpx files and open VP; click the library tab, then select geocaches(reasure chesat icon). Select the files(hold down CTRL and click the ones you want; then drag them into VP

2c. Create a Pocket Query; unzip zip it; then import in into VP.