Travel bugs and total newbies

ridgerim

Hi there,

I am just barely getting started. I have been reading up on travel bugs, but I still don't understand several things:

- Since I'm not yet confident about finding caches, should I try to move one or leave it behind?

- If you don't move it, are you supposed to write down the number and log it? Is this what grabbing" means?

- Are you supposed to research the goals before you go looking for a cache so you know whether or not you can help move it forward?

Thanks in advance!

Hi and welcome to the fun of geocaching.

I'll give you my opinions, others will have their own--

Since I'm not yet confident about finding caches, should I try to move one or leave it behind?

Go ahead and take one if you're really going to try to move it. The thing that is most frustrating to Travel Bug owners is the newbie who takes TBs and then never goes out geocaching again and the TBs are never seen again.

If you don't move it, are you supposed to write down the number and log it? Is this what grabbing" means?

This is "discovering" You can do that if you want to.

Retrieving it from a cache or "Grabbing" it from somewhere else (e.g from another cacher) puts it into your inventory.

Are you supposed to research the goals before you go looking for a cache so you know whether or not you can help move it forward?

This is nice, but not very practical, because--as you will find out very soon--you can't be sure that the trackable that is listed as being in the cache is actually there. And you will find trackables in a cache that are not listed, so you would not have had the opportunity to research them. Ideally, all trackables that have a specific mission will have the information attached to them so that you can read it on the spot. Otherwise, I just take them and then do the best I can to help them reach their goals.

Nancy

- Since I'm not yet confident about finding caches, should I try to move one or leave it behind?