Logging a TB pick up

The Dommer Party

Okay, so I am new to this game/sport, but I made sure that I understood how to properly log trackable activity in order to keep the information correct in the system. Our family recently released 4 travel bugs into the wild and from a log entry yesterday, we suspect that there may be a small problem with one of them. Someone posted a log entry that they found the cache and "switched trackables". As ours was the only known trackable in the cache, we suspect that it is no longer in that cache but rather a different one is in there now. We may check on it soon just to see. Now I'm not blaming the cacher for this mistake. I did send an email inquiring about the whereabouts of our bug, but I tried to be polite and friendly. No word back, but I'm not too worried yet. My point of this post is that this led me to an idea. When you have trackables in your inventory and log a visit, there is a section that lists your trackables and asks if you dropped any off. Great! I think part of the problem with people not logging their PICK UP may be due to the fact that you need to go to a different section of the site to do so, and preferably (IMO) before logging the visit. If you have a cacher that hasn't read all the FAQs, forums, etc, then it is almost seems pretty easy to NOT understand how to properly log trackables, or to even know that it needs to be done in a specific way. My idea: How about when logging a visit, there is a section that asks you if you picked up any trackables? It could either have an entry box right there to enter the tracking code or at minimum link you to the trackables section of the site and tell you something like "If you picked up a trackable from this cache, you need to enter the tracking number into the system." This 'picked up a trackable?' option could maybe only appear if there is supposedly a trackable in the cache, but due to the fact that sometimes there ARE trackables in the cache but they are never logged