caches and electrical boxes

JL_HSTRE

Found a cache today that got me wondering about caches and electrical boxes. The cache in question is a magnetic key case. There is a metal box of some kind that based on a sticker on the side had some electrical-related purpose, with overhang vents on the top of two sides. The mag-key was on the underside of the vents and fairly clearly visible if you looked from the right angle without sticking your hand inside. (Should've taken photos on my Droid.)

I'm no electrician. I don't have a clue what all the different kinds of electrical boxes do. I wouldn't stick my hand into a strange place that might contain live wires though. I'm aware danger is not against the guidelines. But caches like these make me uneasy in general, both from safety and from the "What happens if an electrician discovers this mysterious container?"

I've found some caches that were just metal face plates on the side of an electrical box (attached via magnets; log was in a ziplock baggie held in place under the plate) which did not make me uneasy. I guess because they blend easier and don't run any risk of reaching anywhere bad.

The questions:

1) Would any box with an electrical-related purpose be a permission issue?

2) What kind of experiences have you had with electrical-related boxes and cache hides, good or bad?

This'll get good.

I have never heard of anyone getting electrocuted while geocaching. Of course there may be no one alive to tell such a story.

:omnomnom:

There is this cache I have found- Its about 5 feet from an electric fence. This one guy got electrocuted while signing the log for the cache. Ever since that happened cachers have been extra careful to find that cache.

This'll get good.

I have never heard of anyone getting electrocuted while geocaching. Of course there may be no one alive to tell such a story.