Trackables not in caches as listed.

mrs.mellott

Hey all!

I'm a newbie geocacher, but my husband started many years ago, so I am relatively familiar with all the procedures. My question is this:

If we find a cache that is supposed to have trackables, but doesn't, is there a way to mark the trackable as missing? I realize this could open up a lot of possible problems, and maybe it's just my OCD tendencies, but when I see trackables from June, and it's now almost November, I've visited the cache and they clearly aren't there.... It drives me bonkers! Is there a way for someone other than the trackable owner to mark it MIA?

Thanks!

Is there a way for someone other than the trackable owner to mark it MIA?

The owner of the cache can do that too. So your best bet is to let both cache owner and trackable owner know (through a note for instance) that the trackable wasn't there. Other than that, there's nothing you can do.

The cache owner or the traveler owner can mark it as "missing" (which removes it from the cache inventory).

To do this, they need evidence that it isn't in the cache...

Your job, should you decide to accept it, is the following:

1) in your "found it" log (or note, if that is the case) of the cache, report in the log that the traveler (by NAME is not present);

2) for that particular traveler, use the cache inventory link to access the page and post a "note" log stating that the traveler is not in (name the cache) -- you do not need the tracking # to post a note.

A cache owner receives the cache log via email -- the traveler owner does not. The traveler owner receives an email of the log from the trackable page -- the cache owner does not. So.... you see, you must do BOTH logs.

Whether or not either person will mark the traveler as "missing" is an entirely different matter....