city navigator vs open source maps

I want to use my Garmin 62s for both caching and hiking. Please bear with me, I am new at this. I have just downloaded the Open Source Maps for my area onto the SD card, and find them to be very crowded. I also do not like that I am forced to choose how I want to navigate to the cache. Sometimes I don't want to navigate, but just want to see where the cache is located!

Other than cost and ownership of the map, what are the major differences between the OSM maps and the city navigator from Garmin?

Also, if I purchase the 24k topo , do I need city nav.? Will the 24k topo have trails in the area? I do have an old, unused 100k DVD from my husband's old Dakota 20, we just never loaded the maps.

Thanks in advance.

I want to use my Garmin 62s for both caching and hiking. Please bear with me, I am new at this. I have just downloaded the Open Source Maps for my area onto the SD card, and find them to be very crowded. I also do not like that I am forced to choose how I want to navigate to the cache. Sometimes I don't want to navigate, but just want to see where the cache is located!

Other than cost and ownership of the map, what are the major differences between the OSM maps and the city navigator from Garmin?

Also, if I purchase the 24k topo , do I need city nav.? Will the 24k topo have trails in the area? I do have an old, unused 100k DVD from my husband's old Dakota 20, we just never loaded the maps.

Thanks in advance.

NO trails on City Nav. Some trails on 24k Topo. Probably more trails on OpenStreetMap. 24k Topo is said to be routable. Don't know what you mean by crowded. Try reducing detail level and turning de-clutter on. Also when traveling to a cache. Try setting your navigation to "Off Road". That will take you in a straight line.