Exact coordinates

clayton994

Hi all...

I'm totally new to this so please forgive me if my question sounds stupid. I've noticed that each cache has a description page which has the coordinates of the cache near the top of the page. However, sometimes there's a puzzle to work out the exact coordinates of the cache. Are the coordinates at the top of the description page just rough ones to get you started, but not necessarily the exact coordinates of the cache; or are the puzzles simply something extra for geocache enthusiasts which, once solved, give the same coordinates as the ones already listed at the top of the description page?

Another question, which is really the same as the first question I guess - I've loaded a .kml file onto Google Earth which shows the location of caches around the world. Are the locations shown on Google Earth (which use the same coordinates as the ones given on the description page for each cache) accurate enough for me to find the cache, or do I need to do more work to get more accurate coordinates?

FYI - I don't even own a GPS or smart phone, but I like to explore Google Earth at home on my desktop. Today I noted the locations of a number of caches on Google Earth and went to look for them. I found two, but not the third. I wasn't sure whether the location of the one I couldn't find was a little off, or whether I just wasn't looking hard enough. I guess if I want to get into this I really need to invest in a GPS device!

Thanks,

Clayton

Hi all...