Creative cache hides

AJAM15

Hi I am fairly new to Geocachng and had an ideal about a creative cache. I want to be able to drop a cache on a parachute when the finder interacts with something near the cache such as a branch or rock, but I want it to be easy to reset for the next guy. I have thought about it and figure that ill need to be able to get it to about 35 to 40 ft to get a good flight out of the chute, but I don't know how to get t up that high easily.

it would be great if any of you more experienced cachers had any ideals to help me with this

Thanks in advance AJAM15

Edited by AJAM15

The obvious solution would be to use a pulley and string / fishing line to hoist the chute back up into it's hiding location. The downside is when the trigger is activated, the pulley string needs to be free flowing to allow the chute to fall freely. If the cache is located in a tree, then the string will get caught up in leaves and branches. If the cache is urban you could run the pulley string up a drain pipe. You would need a spool to keep the excess pulley string on when the chute is set. Hiding all that could be tricky. Also ensuring when the finder resets the cache, they do it correctly could be tricky. I think this would need a lot of maintenance, which is not a bad thing, but are you happy to keep visiting the cache to maintain the mechanism?

I'm currently working on the pulley system it seams pretty temperamental but I think i can get t to work the biggest problem is getting the rig high enough, at the moment I have a mock up set up between two trees near my house but that only gets it about 8 ft off the ground which isent high enough to use the full potential of the parachute, someone suggested I string it across two cell towers but I don't think that would be a good ideal

Edited by AJAM15