GPS vs Phone App

K & J - MD

Hi fellow Geocachers. I am new to this as of a few days ago. I am currently using my cell phone with the Geocaching Intro App. I find that it never really gets me to the coordinates. I am probably within 30 - 40 feet each time. I have found that some of the more challenging multistep caches are quite challenging without a GPS. My questions:

1. Is a GPS more accurate than the phone app?

2. Does a GPS make geocaching easier that just using the phone app? (yes I know you still have to search yourself.)

2. If so, is there a recommended GPS for a beginner?

Thanks in advance. Any other tips for a newbie are appreciated!!

2. Does a GPS make geocaching easier that just using the phone app? (yes I know you still have to search yourself.)

2. If so, is there a recommended GPS for a beginner?

1. It shouldn't be but with GPS units combining sat systems they are.

2. Depends on the app. A GPS in itself runs software. There's no reason GPS software should be better than an app. There are great apps out there (even free).

2.(??) Depends on what you want. I'd stick with the app for a while if I where you. You just started and might not continue geocaching (even though now you think you will). There are so many models to choose from in different price classes so after a while you will know what you want from a GPS. Just basic navigation (with maps), want paperless caching, buttons or touchscreen? And then, there's budget of course.

As for the 30-40 ft accuracy, have you tried stopping for a moment to let the phone "settle"? I've seen my GPS at 5-8m from a waypoint or cache but when I look at the screen after logging the cache it's at 1m (sometimes the other way around)

There are many reasons for lesser accuracy, treecover and rain are among them. Sometimes the satellite constellation is "bad".

A caching app is only as accurate as the GPS that is in the phone.

If your phone has a poor GPS chip, the app will not be accurate.