where did you hear about geocaching?

Guest lionel3

Guest lionel3

forgot to add, I saw the spot on CNN-very excied to get started. Geocaching has been around for awhile it seems, so I'm wondering how people first heard about it etc.

thanks!

lionel3

Guest fiser

I have a subscription to Outside magazine and read the article about Geocaching in the Jan 2001 issue. I put a photocopy of the article in the caches I hide.

[This message has been edited by fiser (edited 03-01-2001).]

Guest RyckZ

A friend emailed me the article posted on the GeoCaching site from the LA Times, as she is good friends and I am an aquantaince of the Hirzel's in the article. Now that he is back home, it does not look like he has not yet found any of the GeoCaches around Toledo, Ohio.

I saw it start on the newsgroup: sci.geo.satellite-nav on May 3 2000. Then is was called GPS Stash. I thought is was the coolest thing you could do with a GPS. I waited with baited breath for someone to post one within driving distance of my house. Then Mike Teague made a website and then Jeremy made a newer website and away it went.

[This message has been edited by mcb (edited 03-01-2001).]

Guest Seamus

Link of the day at userfriendly.org

Came here, read about it, got excited, bought a GPS unit, and am going on my first hunt this weekend.

-- Seamus

Guest rcwagner

I first saw it on the CNN web site. I bought my GPS receiver a week later. Waiting anxiously for the weather to cooperate so I can take my wife and sons on our first treasure hunt. The stashes in my local area are multiplying pretty rapidly and should keep us busy.

Guest Krepism

I also saw it in on CNN while I was at lunch one day. I have always had a GPS for fishing and thought what a great reason for my wife to let me buy a new one!!!

Guest bob_renner