Secret Geocachers Greeting?

AvantBard

Hey all,

I'm a definite newbie here (1 found), but already I've got a question for the Geocaching community:

Is there an established way of greeting other people you find near a cache site that would identify you as a fellow geocacher (assuming the other person was in-the-know)? I'm thinking something like a greeting/response pair that we'd use to recognize each other but not give ourselves away to Muggles.

Example: Bob is near the cache site and sees Alice sitting on a nearby rock. "The kangaroo is dead and moldy," says Bob. Alice recognizes this coded phrase and replies "Yes, but it tastes like chicken."

Note: these example phrases have been chosen to make a point and are NOT a suggested greeting/response pair. =-)

So, does anything like this exist yet, and if not, should we come up with a standard?

I believe the standard we agreed on was when meeting another geocacher, one was to yell "Ho, are ye a geocacher?" and the correct response is "Yay, a geocacher I am".

Upon the confirmation, the two then approach each other, put their left hand on the other person's right shoulder, standing arm's length and dance around in a circle while skipping and singing (very loudly) "Geocachers are we! Runy muny mee! Yaba daba baba. He, he, he!". At least that's the way we do it in New Jersey.

I believe the standard we agreed on was when meeting another geocacher, one was to yell "Ho, are ye a geocacher?" and the correct response is "Yay, a geocacher I am".

Upon the confirmation, the two then approach each other, put their left hand on the other person's right shoulder, standing arm's length and dance around in a circle while skipping and singing (very loudly) "Geocachers are we! Runy muny mee! Yaba daba baba. He, he, he!". At least that's the way we do it in New Jersey.

Well seeing as I am new to this whole thing, and based in New Jersey, I will be sure to run right out and try this on the next suspected geocacher I see. <_<