Snake Avoidance Strategies

ebengreene

Hi All,

I'm a geocaching rookie in the Memphis, TN area. I keep reading on individual cache descriptions and hearing from people in the area that snakes are a BIG concern, and that we should be very careful. Now, I wouldn't say I'm full-on phobic of snakes, but I'd be very happy if I'm never suprised by one on a hunt.

So, I'm wondering what those of you living in areas with snakes do to be safe, especially those of you living in areas with the supposedly aggressive Cottonmouth. Basically what I do now is try to look very closely and poke around with a long stick whenever I have to step into an area I can't see well. Problem is, some caches are so overgrown that there is simply no way to see all of the ground around me. I also have been told to be very careful stepping over fallen trees, etc.

Thanks for any help,

Ben

I always try to poke if I can't see, look before reaching, and I always put my walking stick across the opposite side of fallen trees before stepping. I have spent 2 1/2 years caching the woods of Florida, rattlesnakes, cottonmouts, and a variety of other snakes I have only gotten one Pygmy Rattler cornered where he couldn't get away from me and he coiled but I saw him first. I had to chase 2 mocasins off of the path I was on, but I saw them first and was able to react. the critical point with all of these is watch, watch your feet and hands. I am sure I have passed more snakes than I have seen by staring at the gps but just be aware of where you are and what lives there.

Generally, snakes view other living things in a binary fashion - I can eat it, or it can eat me. Since snakes cannot eat one of us, they would much prefer to avoid us. Trouble occurs when they cannot avoid us - if they are cornered, as mentioned by the federation, or if you inadvertently sit down, lay down, or put your hand or foot too close to one of them.