Help With A Cobra Gps1000

TheRom

I have no personal experience with Cobra units, but have read many threads in the forums here from people complaining about Cobra GPS. I have probably heard at least 10-15 people saying they're junk for every 1 person who thinks they're good. If it were me, unless I was REALLY afraid of offending the person who gave it to me, I'd likely exchange it for something from Garmin or Magellan.

I have no personal experience with Cobra units, but have read many threads in the forums here from people complaining about Cobra GPS. I have probably heard at least 10-15 people saying they're junk for every 1 person who thinks they're good. If it were me, unless I was REALLY afraid of offending the person who gave it to me, I'd likely exchange it for something from Garmin or Magellan.

All my GPS units are Magellan; they range from $100 to $3,500. Never had any problems! <_<

I'd return it and get a Garmin or Magellan. Most gift givers want you to have what you want and won't be offended if you need to trade it in for something a little bit different.

You can explain that geocachers tend to use either of the above brands for geocaching and you want to be able to use the same sort of aftermarket software taht others use.

Most gps users here are not familiar with Cobra gps units,so try the unit for geocaching and educate us all on that unit!The specs look good and it uses Rand Mcnally maps!it

certainly has my curiousity!

Like said, very few seem to have cobra gps'. And of those few reviews, most were not very ... impressed (many "takes too long to get a lock" and "It loses it reception"). If you keep it, you'll need to figure out a lot of your problems on your own (do they tech support?) because next to noone, if any, here have them. You can get step by step instructions for about all Garmin or Magellan handhelds, and maybe some lowrance, but outside that... <_<