Frs/gmrs Radio

The Walking Man

I have been using Cobra MicroTalks for several years with good results. The family has even used them to stay in touch while visiting Disney World in Florida. We connected up with other family members that brought theirs along.

Don't forget, for the higher power of the GMRS, you do need a license from the FCC. They are no problem to get, and you can do the whole thing online.

I've successfully used a frs radio all over the us. When me and my family went to disney world and it was a big help.

They were invaluable on our trip to Disneyworld. I remember looking for my wife and she was describing where she was and I was saying, hey, that sounds like the same place I am. Turns out she was about 15 feet away from me and we didn't see each other.

They also come in handy for skiing when the family gets separated. I can usually hear someone in the lodge from the top of the mountain because there is a direct line, but if I go over the other side I lose them.

For geocaching, they're nice for group hunts so people can stay in touch. They were particularly handy for one multi stage hunt that I was on.

You really can't go wrong with Motorola. One review I read a few years ago rated Radio Shack and Kenwood models the highest, but I'm sure that's invalid by now as there have been many changes in the models since.

I agree with getting the Motorola brand. Get a GMRS with at least a 5 mile range. The T5000 are a good model at about $40 bucks a pair at Walmart. I highly recommend getting radios which use AAs or other replaceable batteries instead getting the rechargeable type of radio. That way, in the field, you can change your batteries if the radio goes dead. My radio uses AAs because that's what my 60CS uses. Then, I only have to carry one type of extra batteries.

-------------------------------------

www.JackieandAlan.com

Edited by Alan Ellis

LICENSE? We don't need no stinking license!