Mapsource Problems

mr magellan

Hi guys i have been using mapsource for a few months.

Now when i click on map source from by desktop i get a box open with

there is a problem with mapsource registry and tells me to reinstall the

program which i have done a few times with the same results any ideas

still have not heard back from garmin thanks Larry .

Here's what I would do (exactly the way I would do it):

I would try UNINSTALLING all of MapSource - that is Topo, MetroGuide, City Select, WorldMap, Roads and Recreation - ALL instances of MapSource products. Then be sure to delete the C:\Program Files\Garmin folder.

Then go to your Windows START button and click on "RUN"

Type in the word "REGEDIT" and then click "OK"

Double-Click the folder "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE"

Double-Click the folder "SOFTWARE"

Click on the "Garmin" folder to highlight it

Press the "DELETE" key (on your keyboard)

Press "OK", "YES" or "NEXT" (whichever) to confirm you want to delete the registry key (because that's what you wanna do :) )

Close the Registry Editor

Reinstall your MapSource product(s)

Hi guys i have been using mapsource for a few months.

Now when i click on map source from by desktop i get a box open with

there is a problem with mapsource registry and tells me to reinstall the

program which i have done a few times with the same results any ideas

still have not heard back from garmin thanks Larry .

Mr M, by any chance did you recently try to delete a mapset like an old City Select by any chance? The one time I tried it I ended up crashing Mapsource but was lucky enough that re-running the latest version upgrade .exe put me back in business. It was long enough ago that I don't remember what kind of errors messages I got so I'm just taking a wild stab at it possibly being the same type of problem.

Good Luck, Olar