Silica Gel Packets

SilverLynx

Hello all, Forum newbie here...

I searched the forum and haven't found any posts on this topic, so I thought I would share.

Silica Gel packets come in many things, shoes, medicine, clothing, etc. Most people throw them out without a second thought. These little packets were designed to absorb moisture, and come in many different shapes and sizes. My idea (and I'm sure others have come up with ot too) is to add 1 or more to your micro/small caches to keep the logs dry. Granted, they only absorb so much moisture, and really wouldn't help if the cache isn't watertight or is already waterlogged, but it will help against condensation and might be the difference between a dry log or a log with pages stuck together and smeared ink.

Carry a few with you the next time you do cache maintence, or drop one in a cache the next time you go caching.

Just my 2¢

Lynx

Okay, I have to say just use waterPROOF containers. We all know by now those little black film cans are not waterproof and so it's a little irresonsible to use those for caches knowing the log can get wet. Same thing for altoids tins, AOL tins, hide-a-keys......

Waterproof will do nothing to combat condensation inside the cache. The silica pkts will at least help with that.

Okay, I have to say just use waterPROOF containers.

I'm not sure, but I think the original author already knew that.

I think he was thinking more of absorbing any of the moisture in the air trapped in the container.

My second cache had a soggy log, even though it was in a film canister. I'm sure it didn't leak, it was just the moist air. If it had leaked, it would have wreaked (sp?) all sorts of havoc, especially on the ink in the logs if it had actually leaked.

By the way, all film canisters are not created equal. The Fuji ones are a bit "more equal" than the Kodak ones.