Benchmark Recovery Procedures

zygote2k

I am a surveyor in the Northern Virginia metro area and I frequently need BM info. I would like to use this site to help find any BM's I may be looking for, but most of the found logs don't seem to have lat/long info on them. This would be a great help to any surveyor in finding a difficult BM.

Glad your looking at the Geocaching Benchmarking entries for your professional endeavors. I agree with Black Dog that originally our (mine anyway) were intended just to claim the find. It's progressed (by some) to now log Lat & Long coords reguardless how close the original data sheet depicted them. OR no ref being posted due to the original data sheet being so accurate in it's narative and/or it's Lat/Long coords that the submitter felt it would just be redundant. Thanks for viewing and commenting.

I generally log the coordinates for "scaled" benchmarks, but not "adjusted". I usually have the GPSr (set to show coordinates in both WGS84 datum and NAD83 datum) in the Picture, also. Using a digital camera allows me to verify that you can read the coordintes on the GPSr, before leaving the area, so I don't Need to go back a second time to do it right.

John

The effort I go to log in varies with how hard it was to find. I set my GPS to "take me to" the listed coordinates. If I get there, read the description, and can just walk over to it then I don't worry too much about coordinates and the like. If it's hard to find, or if the listed ones are way off (for scaled, adjusted should be right on, I'd log if they were obviously wrong, I suppose) then I'll probably take a GPSr reading and post it. So far I've only logged coordinates for a few scaled ones, and most were were all the descriptive elements were gone (houses, fences, etc).

Hi All!

Sorry for being conspicuously absent for so long and thanks to those who checked in on me. That was really nice.