Wild George Dollars -- Help!

Kaweah

The other night I picked up a Wild George dollar in a geocache. I'm new to caching and to wheresgeorge and had never seen one of these before. It was a small laminated dollar that said "Wild George, Salt Lake City, Utah, Token #456" in the center and had instructions stamped in red around the borders telling me to "See Where I'm From," "Track where I go next!" with the geocaching and wheresgeorge sites stamped in red, and with "Track This Bill!" and "www.wheresgeorge.com" stamped in a red circle around the laurel wreath above the dollar's serial number.

So, I entered it in at the wheregeorge site and had my account IMMEDIATELY TERMINATED for rules violation. I had to write them, explain what happened and beg to be let back in, which I was, with the warning that my acct will be permanently terminated if I break another rule.

I thought I'd share this unpleasant experience with the forum so nobody else has to go thru it.

Can someone please explain to me what this is about? It seems mean-spirited to me, and is my first negative geocaching experience.

Unless I find some reason not to, I plan to run this Wild George Token #456 from Salt Lake City, Utah thru the shredder.

Thanks for your help,

Kaweah

I read the discussion thread about George, but that's not what I'm writing about.

I'm writing about this shrunken, laminated variant called "Wild George Token #456" from SLC, UT, with all the stamped-in-red statements urging one to enter it on WG and GC.

Has anyone run across one of these? Do you know what's the story behind it?

As I mentioned earlier, it seems to have mal-intent behind it. Am I missing something?

Kaweah

O.K. I have done a little better research job this time.

I Googled "Wild George Token", which led to an active Geocacher in Utah.

I copied this off of the Wild George Groundspeak Member Profile Page:

Latest News: