How The Heck Do I Load Waypoints

I have a card reader. I'm told by Lowrance that I don't need a LEI card reader unless I'm working with MapCreate. I dowloaded their GPS Data Manager, and put the card in the reader but it seems to be looking for a GPS unit and not the card.

Is there a trick to this? There are absolutely no instructions in the manual.

I dowloaded their GPS Data Manager, and put the card in the reader but it seems to be looking for a GPS unit and not the card.

You don't need it. All you need is GPSbabel (1.2.5 or newer) and if you are using GSAK you should have it. Just choose Lowrance .usr file as file type in GPSbabel and copy that file to your memory card.

Well I had the same quest when I picked up my Ifinder. It is easy once you get the hang of it. I even built a webpage to walk fellow travelers through it.

How the heck to I get my waypoints into my Ifinder??

First post but then I am a beginner at geocaching, only 12 or so far.

Edited to add, you can save the file anywhere on your computer. It is not looking for the GPS unit I use save file as then save it to My documents. I then drag and drop to my card reader.

Edited by fnfalg1

Hi fnfalg1 and welcome to the forum B)

Wow that's a great tutorial for loading waypoints onto an iFinder, nicely done! But aren't some of the steps unnecessary? I use GPSbabel to read the source .GPX file and directly create the .USR format onto MMC chip from the iFinder. Then just load the waypoints using the internal load feature.

The GPS data manager GDM6 from Lowrance will allow you to upload and display waypoints and routes from the iFinder memory card via card reader. Remember to save your waypoints/tracks ONTO the memory card first!

OK here's what I did.

1. Opened my GPX file in GPSBable and converted to Lowrance: see below

87b0825f-8302-49e5-a423-ef2ccb25fa70.jpg

2. Put MMC card in reader and dragged new file there

3. Put card in unit. Browsed MMC card and I can see the file