New to Geocaching -

SteveKJR

Hi all,

I am new to Geocaching however I do have a few hiking GPS receivers - Magellin 300, 400, 500, Garmin colorado and that is where I found out about Geocaching. Since then I have been doing research on what Geocaching is about and there is an abundant of information out there.

That brings me up to the topic - Geocaching Olympic Pins. I have been pondering the idea of Geocaching Olympic Pins. As everyone knows there are a lot of 1996 Atlanta pins out there and people like to collect them. So what I was thinking is Geocaching Olympic Pins in different areas for people to locate and find. As I have read if you take an item from a Geocach you should replace it with an item of equal value or more. In the case of Geocaching Olympic pins if you decide you want to take one you would replace it with another one.

The 1996 Atlanta Olympic pins are relatively inexpensive and I think it would be a great way to do pin trading without having to pay for them. As far as location of the pins I was thinking about areas where there were venues but I don't know if that would really matter. The hunt and find would be exciting along with possibly trading your pin for one that you need.

So, I would like your input on this idea and what you think about it. My feeling is that it would get more people involved in Geocaching and would make it a little more fun.

Hi all,

I am new to Geocaching however I do have a few hiking GPS receivers - Magellin 300, 400, 500, Garmin colorado and that is where I found out about Geocaching. Since then I have been doing research on what Geocaching is about and there is an abundant of information out there.