Difficult reviewers

Julieanno

I'm new to Geocaching. I'm trying to introduce my kids to the Joys of geocaching. Anyone having difficulties with a reviewer? I feel like this is an "elite" group that isn't accepting of new folks. If so, I'm sad I just paid for the premium membership!

There are no cache page submissions associated with your account. Are you talking about one of your friends' cache submissions? It would help the discussion if we knew the details. The GC Code or the name of your friend's account would be a great start.

Community Volunteer Reviewers apply the listing guidelines when deciding whether a geocache can be published. Since we are geocachers too, we like to publish as many caches as possible! When a cache doesn't meet the listing guidelines, we try to explain why, and suggest ways to fix the issue, like "your cache is too close to an existing cache, please move it so it's at least 528 feet from its neighbor."

It's quite normal for new cache hiders to have a few bumps in the road for their first cache hides. But, after awhile, you learn things like checking the land manager policies wiki, checking for proximity to other caches, telling the reviewer how and where your cache is hidden, etc. The more you learn, the easier it becomes to have smooth publications.

If you have concerns that you're being treated unfairly or rudely, a cache owner can obtain a second opinion by writing to the Appeals team at Geocaching HQ via the Help Center. The Appeals team are employees who supervise and coordinate the work of the hundreds of Community Volunteer Reviewers worldwide.