fixing up someone elses cache?

rmorin415

I am new to this and would like to know if it is ok to do some fixing up or repairs on other peoples caches that I find. Nothing like moving or re-hiding them , just adding a new log or replacing the container kinda stuff. *example* I found a cache yesterday that is a pill bottle but the top is gone and the log was just a wet post it note, can I replace it with a new bottle with a top and a new log and pencil. another near it is a old ziplock bag, can I replace it with a new one. I am sure its not a big deal but I don't want to upset anyone.

I am new to this and would like to know if it is ok to do some fixing up or repairs on other peoples caches that I find. Nothing like moving or re-hiding them , just adding a new log or replacing the container kinda stuff. *example* I found a cache yesterday that is a pill bottle but the top is gone and the log was just a wet post it note, can I replace it with a new bottle with a top and a new log and pencil. another near it is a old ziplock bag, can I replace it with a new one. I am sure its not a big deal but I don't want to upset anyone.

Please don't be a crappy cache enabler. Do the game a favor and don't extend the life of poor quality caches. Post a Needs Maintenance. If there are already a couple of NM logs and no response from the cache owner (check their profile, perhaps they stopped visiting the site) it may be time to post a Needs Archive which gets the reviewer's attention and they will likely Temporarily Disable the cache giving the owner about a month to respond and fix the cache. If the CO has abadoned the cache and doesn't respond to the reviewer's disable message, then the cache will likely be archived in another month, opening up the space for another cache owner (hopefully someone responsible and willing to use a better container).