Cheaters! (Despicable!)

Hi everybody!!

I'm a newbie to this awesome game/hobby and have been caching for about a year and a half now. I absolutely love it and know that I'll be a Geocacher for the rest of my life.

I am wondering what, (if anything), can be done about Geocaching cheaters. I'm referring to people who sit in front of their PC's, looking at a map of an area, and then start logging find after find without ever setting foot anywhere near a cache.

I'm watching a certain profile right now, of a person who went from 300 finds to over 1000 in about a week. Furthermore, the caches are geographically located in an impossible proximity to accomplish such a feat, even if it was possible for him to actually find that many caches in such a short amount of time. (I know that some cache owners are on to him, because I see his cache count going up and down on a daily basis.)

What tipped me off and got me watching his profile in the first place, was that he logged a find on a cache on my watchlist. One that I have been back to several times and have not been able to find. When I reached out to him for a hint, he replied with an answer that made absolutely no sense with regard to this cache, thus proving without any doubt that he was lying about it.

My questions are: What can be done about a person like this? Can he be reported? Can Groundspeak do anything, such as banning or suspending? And why would a person do that to begin with??? (I mean, it's not like he's getting paid for his finds.)

Thank you all for your time and input!!

:-)

Edited by CacheMoneyHustlas

My questions are: What can be done about a person like this? Can he be reported?

Link for reference:

http://support.Groundspeak.com/index.php?pg=request