Orphan Caches

GDad Souter

Having discussed the issue of Orphan Caches on General Discussions it was suggested by one of the Reviewers that I also post on Features Discussion. As a newbie, I would certainly be interested to hear what other Cachers think.

Basically, when assessing Caches for my family, including my toddler GDaughter, I take great care in trying to find Caches which will give a good experience and keep the little ones safe. As part of this, I try to avoid Caches that have been abandoned by their owners. Not only is the Cache likely to be a soggy mess, but the Cache page is likely to be out of date and any new hazards gone unreported.

The information about a CO is available, although the date last visited is probably misleading if they are using an app, but it takes time to trawl through their profile, previous logs, disabled Caches etc. to get a full picture. I am told that Reviewers have access to a complex algorithm to help them weed out delinquent COs etc. I just wondered if GS could use the data they have to display a CO rating on the Cache page, right up there with Favourites, Attributes etc. It could be as basic as providing information as to whether the CO is active or not, or it could could be a rating system as used by sellers on eBay. Either way, it could be used to filter out Caches owned by COs who have gone walkabout.

Reviewers are already aware of which COs are ignoring NMs, for example, but this information is not being made readily available to members of the Geocaching website, and Reviewers are understandably lagging behind in trying to sort them out. I understand a lot of Cachers like these old Caches for use in Challenges etc. and I am not suggesting they be archived unless they fall apart or go missing. I am just asking for a way to identify these Caches so I can avoid them.