Working the Grid

purpletrumpet

I had such great replies to my first question, I'll post another.

I see a lot of cachers refer to "filling out their grid". Is this another side-game? Are they trying to get a find in every quadrant of a grid they create of their local caches? Can anyone give an example of how you created your grid?

Thanks, you all are awesome. I'm still a newbie, but I'm trying to learn fast.

There are lots of challenges around the world that work off the various 'grids'. Example: http://coord.info/GC5MZJ4

That's extreme, though. Most folks focus on one at a time. Personally, I'm really only interested in the calendar grid. I should be able to complete that one on February 29th next year.

The D/T grid is a good one to try for, but it's not something I really have an interest in intentionally trying to fill. I still check every now and then to see if I've turned more of it green.

Now...the Jasmer one...I have no interest in. Honestly, I think that one tends to encourage some shenanigans when it comes to cache maintenance. Too many really old caches that have been abandoned or destroyed end up getting a pass simply because it's a rare cache that was placed in a certain month 14 or 15 years ago. It causes a lot of heartburn for too many folks.

There's no grid for this, but I met a man from Australia at a local event. He was in town for another function. He said he was participating in a challenge to find caches that have sat unfound the longest. Then they add up the lapsed times from one cache to another for a total. So, if he finds a cache that hasn't been found and logged in a year, then another that hasn't been found in 6 months, he is credited with a year and a half and he builds on that. I think that's a great idea. I think he said he's up to 40+ years.