Placing a cache?

rkjl

I am fairly new to geocacheing (35 finds)and would like to place one of my own. Looking at the web site details it looks pretty intimidating to place a cache. What is the first step? Getting permission? If you want to place on SGL's do you contact the Game Commission for permission? Etc. Thanks for the help!

I am fairly new to geocacheing (35 finds)and would like to place one of my own. Looking at the web site details it looks pretty intimidating to place a cache. What is the first step? Getting permission? If you want to place on SGL's do you contact the Game Commission for permission? Etc. Thanks for the help!

Not every cache placement requires explicit permission. However, doing your homework will save you some time. Groundspeak maintains a Wiki that covers a few land use issues for various parts of the world. Judging from your most recent Finds, the following page looks like the most appropriate to start:

Wiki link

It's by no means comprehensive, but at least it would give you some information. Beyond that, contacting your Local Reviewer, talking with other Geocachers, and asking Land Managers directly regarding Geoccaching Policies would be another source of information.

Good luck!

Thank you for the info!!!

Not every cache placement requires explicit permission. However, doing your homework will save you some time. Groundspeak maintains a Wiki that covers a few land use issues for various parts of the world. Judging from your most recent Finds, the following page looks like the most appropriate to start:

Wiki link

It's by no means comprehensive, but at least it would give you some information. Beyond that, contacting your Local Reviewer, talking with other Geocachers, and asking Land Managers directly regarding Geoccaching Policies would be another source of information.

Good luck!