Required distance between multi caches

Medox2010

Hi all,

As a beginner, I'm especially interested in multi and mystery caches,

and I've got several questions about them:

There is a rule of 'not placing a geocache within a 100 meters' range of another cache'.

But what if someone would create a multi cache, with some of the caches only being landmarks,

like a statue (which will help you answer a question that will get you to the next cache)?

What if only the final cache is a real, physical cache, and all the caches on the way to that

final cache are only location which hold an answer on your queste? Does the above rule still

count, then?

Another question I have:

When looking for a multi cache on a geocaching map, is only the first coordinate visible? Or

maybe the first and the last one? Or are all of the 'steps' on the way to the final cache visible

on the map?

I will have many more things I'd like to find out. But for now, I'll just wait for a reaction and

see how far I'll be able to get with that ;-)

Thanks for your help!

These and other questions are answered in the pinned topic "Specific Rules for Multis" in this section of the forum. It was located just two threads above your thread a moment ago. The answers there are explained better than I can do right now.

Distance is between 'Physical stages' (parts placed by a cacher*) from other 'Physical stages' of OTHER caches.

Distance of your 'Physical stages' for that cache, can be less than the minimum.

* Physical stage, container or tag, or similar that have been placed there by a cacher, as part of a cache.

Virtual stages, information from items already 'on site' eg notice boards or counting 'how many...', do NOT count for distance requirements.

ETA

You're trying to place a Multi, when you haven't found ANY caches?

Guidelines suggest you find "20 or so caches" before you place one.

Edited by Bear and Ragged