confused about multicache

zibeli

Hi, I'm pretty new to this and today tried to find my first "multicache", GC3J0FT. I went to the coordinates at the head of that cache description, but didn't find any cache, but I'm not really sure what I should be looking for. From a search of this forum, an earlier post indicated that those coordinates (posted at the head of the GC3J0FT description) should be for the first stage, which I assume means I should find a clue of some sort for stage 2 rather than the actual cache. What I don't understand is what form that clue should take: am I looking for another physical cache of some sort, with the clue inside, or for something else? There doesn't seem to be any detail about how the stages work in the cache description; is there a general approach for this?

Thanks in advance for any help!

It all depends on the multi cache. Some have a container, tag or some other physical device that has the coordinates for the next stage. Often it can be confusing because the size listed for the cache pertains to the final stage and the interim containers may be very small (aka micros) regardless of the size of the final container.

Others have what are called virtual stages. You may need to read a marker, count objects at the location and perhaps perform some sort of calculation from what you found to obtain the coordinates for the next stage. These multis with virtual stages will almost always have instructions on the page telling you what you need to do, so you will usually know if you have encountered one of these. The instructions may ask you things like "what is the last digit of the date", "how many letters are in the first word of the second paragraph of the sign?", "count the spokes on the wagon wheel" and will provide you with a formula to derive the coordinates for the next stage.