Combine smartphone with Foretrex unit?

urbex

I'm still a relative newbie to Geocaching, but I'm already finding annoyances with the way I (think) like to do it. I've also decided this is the year that I evict the alien baby growing in my gut (stereotypical beer belly syndrome :D), and have taken up regular jogging around the neighborhood and jogging trails on the weekends. I've found that the caching is a natural tie in to the jogging, like many others have.

I first tried it with my old Etrex unit, but quickly found entering co-ords one at a time by hand to be beyond annoying. Using my Android phone seemed like the next logical step, except, as is commonly known by many by now - running the GPS on it eats the battery alive. I also dislike attempting to run and hold the thing at the same time, and digging it out of my Camelbak repeatedly to check heading and distance got old fast.

There are plenty of arm band solutions for the phone, but then we get back to the battery issue...

Soo...time to go GPS shopping! :D I was ready to plunk down the cash for the Fenix when I first saw it (impulse buys at their finest! lol), but have been reading some reviews saying the performance is less than stellar for navigational duties, with several reviewers saying the Foretrex 401 units just blow them out of the water, so to speak. I do like the bigger screen of the Foretrex as well, and the considerably smaller price tag is certainly appealing as well.

I understand that the Foretrex wouldn't handle paperless caching, which makes me wonder if I could do something like using my Android phone to download the caches to the Foretrex, with the ANT protocol, then using the phone to log if need be? This way I'm not running the GPS and screen on the phone constantly, and only pulling it out occasionally to log and/or DL new caches as needed.