Does this animal exist?

Hi All,

I am a nature photographer who enjoys traveling the back-roads to find good locations for my images. I have a PU with slide-in camper that allows me to get to out-of-the-way spots with some comfort (the old back can't handle the Thermorest anymore, LOL). I am trying to find an in-dash GPS (hopefully with stereo) that will allow me to tag locations for future visits for shooting. I also enjoy night photos so having an accurate location is helpful after dark.

I would like the ability to tag locations as I drive, tag locations off the road (usually no more than a mile off using Android) and be able to take this info back to the in-dash unit, add text to tag to help describe highlights, and be able to download all of this information onto my desktop to help plan future trips which I can then load back into the in-dash unit.

Does such an animal exist?

BTW, I travel in US and Canada.

Many thanks for your time and response.

Rick

As I read the opening post I find the desired unit described as in-dash three times. If this is the true intent, I expect that the OP wants the desired unit to replace the OEM, factory installed radio unit in the dashboard of his vehicle.

I know that there are NUVIs that stick on a windshield with suction devices, but are there models which may be installed as replacements inside the dashboard?

Example: When the AM/FM/Cassette died in the dashboard of our Jeep GC, I had Circuit City replace it with an FM/AM/CD unit (which was not external to the dashboard).

"As I read the opening post I find the desired unit described as in-dash three times. If this is the true intent, I expect that the OP wants the desired unit to replace the OEM, factory installed radio unit in the dashboard of his vehicle."

That's exactly correct CowboyPapa. That's what I'm trying to find.

Hi All,