Garmin ETrex 20

Hello, I am new at GeoCaching.

I have a Garmin Etrex 20 GPS and I have difficulty finding a way to load up GPS sites on my GPS.

I already have the Canadian Maps on my GPS.

I went to the Help On GeoCache site at point 2.11 (How do I download GeoCaches to my GPS Device).

The instructions say to plug the GPS then from the geocache page click "Send to my GPS" button and choose the type of GPS I have.

Well, I did not find the "Send to my GPS button" on the geocache.com site.

Tips anyone?

Thanks.

Chris.

Edited by CThibaudeau-GeoFrog

I have an etrex20 and here's how I do it:

Go to the individual cache page

Download thr GPX file into a GPX folder on my desktop

Drag those into the GPX folder of my Garmin.

Every time I am done with a group of caches I remove them from the GPSr

Yes, it takes several steps but it is methodical and works for me.

I do my Etrex 30 similarly to Meow&Purr;

open the actual cache page

select the "GPX File" option

save them to my desktop

copy the .gpx files to the GPX folder on the Garmin

delete found caches from Garmin once back at home

any DNF or unattempted are then stored in .zip or .rar files on the Garmin for next time (I only have GPX files for the planned trips live) these have to be replaced with more up-to-date downloads on the day of attempting due to updates in log files etc. but it helps me keep track of which files I need.

In the past I have tried using the "Send to GPS" function when you get the cache pop-up from the map or the "Send to My GPS" on the cache page, although it does send the file to the Garmin I often found they did not show up or not all the data was written hence why I use the slower but IMO safer method above.

I'm sure once you get to grips with how things work you'll develop a method that works best for you ;)

Note to TheGreatEvie and Meow&Purr,