Nuvi 50 to drive/route to a cache?

geoBirder

I'm still fairly new to geocaching, and download pocket queries to my Oregon 450. I realized last night I could probably download the same pocket query to a Nuvi 50.

Since the Nuvi has a touch screen, I should in theory be able to touch the cache icon, and then follow the Nuvi's instructions to the closest street (easier than inputting intersections etc.). Once there, I would use my Oregon for the actual caching.

I'm going to give it a try this weekend, but thought I would ask here first:

Has anyone tried this? Does it work or badly fail?

Also, can I search by GC number?

Thanks for any assistance!

Rob

Has anyone tried this? Does it work or badly fail?

I load a couple of select caches, to get me to an unfamiliar area. I don't load entire PQs on my Nuvi. Depending on where you're caching, you may not need a whole PQ. If for example you're going to a park and then walking to caches, one cache near the parking lot is all you need for guidance.

Street routing can get tricky in neighborhoods where the Nuvi can't decide which cul-sde-sac may be the right one, and it tends to simply direct you to the place where the cache is closest to the street. Your plan of selecting a point near a cache might work.

There is a limit to the number of caches a Nuvi can hold. Loaded caches typically are listed by GC number. There is “POI Loader” software that makes cache descriptions into readable Points Of Interest and this allows loading more. The catch is, it can be tough to get rid of the POIs when you're done. You may just have to try it and see how it goes. Some Nuvis handle cache files better than others, there's little consistency there.