Using google maps to find nice locations FAIL

5Campbells

So I am new to this whole geocaching thing but having a blast. Today was my 7th hide and 14 find.

I am sure allot of people use google maps to find the perfect spot without having to drive out.

So today I found a nice dead end road, no muggles around to bother it. Nice guardrail hide.

Google maps shows me this

Screen%20Shot%202016-01-07%20at%205.14.53%20PM_1.png

But you get there and see this.

20160107_160718.jpg

LOL.

Keep looking I guess!

Neither picture looks like a place I would go for a cache. :blink:

That was my first thought too. A guard rail at the end of a road beside an interstate isn't what I would personally call a "nice location" or "the perfect spot". At least they have one of those sound-reducing walls beside the interstate, so you'd be able to talk to anyone else who's with you without having to yell. Maybe an appropriately-themed cache would work well there, but otherwise it just seems like another lame, only-reason-to-come-here-is-for-the-cache spot.

As for locating a hiding spot, most of mine have been discovered either while out caching or just out walking some new-to-me trails while gathering data for OpenStreetMap. I think I did initially scout out a few spots using satellite imagery and Google StreetView, but these typically aren't caches that get a lot of Favourite Points.

I thought they used to put the date on the maps. Or do they not want you to know just how old their images are?

It's quite funny, some times, to check out an area on Google maps, then do the street view, turn the corner and see that what showed as buildings have been demolished.

Can't depend on any of that stuff. Got to get yourself out there to really know if it's a "nice" location.

B.

The houses overlooking the cache location would have been a problem too.