Which GPS should I get?

BoLynn

Hello all! I am new to the world of geocaching and I finally convinced my husband to get a handheld GPS unit for hiking. We are planing to go do a short backpacking trip to the Boundary Waters next month and I thought it would be great to also do some geocaching and make it an even more awesome adventure. The problem is that he bought a Garmin Oregon 600 and even though the description says its good for geocaching I am having trouble getting the files from geocaching.com to go into the GPS. When I download the files its a .loc file instead of a .gpx.

I do have a premium on here so I am not sure why its doing this.

Short story is should I stick with the Oregon 600 or get the Oregon 700 or 750? If so why and if you have any other GPS units from different brands please let me know! I am all ears. I just want to make sure the device is reliable and a geocaching experience would be great!

Thank you ahead of time for the help. :)

Your Oregon 600 is one of the best GPSr for geocaching. You must determine why you are getting LOC files instead of GPX files, that makes all the difference. Are you absolutely certain you are logged in with the proper account? How are you getting the LOC files? Make sure you clear ALL LOC files from your GPSr before you add any GPX files.

Edited by Atlas Cached

LOC files aren't directly compatible with the GPS anyway. I'm really not sure why Groundspeak even supports the .loc file format anymore since it has to be passed through Basecamp or some other software just to get the waypoints on the GPS.

If you aren't using pocket queries, I highly recommend that you start as it's a much more efficient way to manage and load cache listings to your GPS. The last option when setting up a pocket query asks what format you want the results to be sent as. Make sure it's set to GPX and not LOC.